Stages Of Resistance To Change

. Resistance follows the "grief cycle": shock or denial or disbelief, anger, bargaining, anxiety, sadness, disorientation, depression, acceptance and action (see earlier in this Volume)

. Six Levels of Response to Change (Degrees of Ownership)

organisational development change management

A greater focus on readiness for change and less on resistance to change is recommended. This includes linking your support to the opinion-makers who are leading the change, rather than to the resistors. Although there is a temptation to convert a resistor, this can take a lot of time and energy that could be better and more effectively spent elsewhere, such as with the supporter of the change process. If you are spending too much time with the resistors, the message that you are sending staff is that if you resist, management spends time with you. This is the wrong message to send in a change process.


Search For Answers

designed by: bluetinweb

We use cookies to provide you with a better service.
By continuing to use our site, you are agreeing to the use of cookies as set in our policy. I understand