More on Leadership

There are 7 types of leadership development involving being able to interpret their own and others' behaviour (David Rooke et al, 2005 & Joanne Gray, 2015l).

The 7 are broken into conventional leadership (first 4 stages) and transformational leadership (last 3 stages). The stages are

i) opportunists (trying to win at all costs)

ii) diplomats (wanting to belong and never rocking the boat)

iii) experts (ruled by logic and expertise)

iv) achievers (focused on getting things done and solving problems)

v) individualists (willing to buck the rules and innovate)

vi) strategists (able to focus on the long-term and inspire others)

vii) alchemists (able to create a long-term vision that inspires and transforms a large community)

NB It is estimated that only around 15% of leaders are post-conventional, ie last 3 types above. These are the leaders who are highly valued in times of rapid change for their ability to navigate changing times that are more volatile, uncertain, complex and ambiguous. The remainder are limited by an inability to look beyond the short term, their narrow perspectives, and their own self interest/focus. their style of leadership is suitable in stable times


"'re unlikely to be successful in organisational change if you can only see the world of your own perspective..."

Maja Stanojevic-Andre as quoted by Joanne Gray, 2015



Search For Answers

designed by: bluetinweb

We use cookies to provide you with a better service.
By continuing to use our site, you are agreeing to the use of cookies as set in our policy. I understand